Info

Photographs by Tom Drury

greenwindow.jpg

Comments

4 Comments

Post a comment
  1. December 1, 2007

    I really love the colours in this – so vibrant. I have a thing for windows. My fave piece of art is Bonnard’s, The Open Window. I can’t really put into words why I like windows so much, maybe it’s because they’re a glimpse into someone else’s world!

  2. driftless #
    December 1, 2007

    I like Bonnard too. This must be the one you mean:
    http://www.artinthepicture.com/paintings/view.php?nr=1331

    And here is the same theme done by Matisse:
    http://www.nga.gov/education/schoolarts/matisse_full.shtm

    All the windows in this building were like this but this one had the most range.

  3. December 1, 2007

    That’s the one. Just out of interest, when you’re looking for a subject do you have something in mind first that perhaps you’ve read about in the news or remembered from another journey; or is it more spontaneous than that? The artistic process is always an interesting one.

  4. driftless #
    December 2, 2007

    Usually the pictures come from driving around with nothing special in mind. Or I’ll stop on a promising street and walk around the block. Sometimes if I don’t have much time I will take a picture of something I’ve seen before and remembered. The amazing Pegasus skeleton I’d seen before. And that, believe it or not, has been painted over! So I’m glad I got the shot . . .

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS