Info

Photographs by Tom Drury

hiring2.jpg

Comments

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Mike S. #
    December 7, 2007

    Are the clouds over the doorway reflections, or trompe l’oeil paintings?
    I actually read a couple of the “Mission Earth” books when I was in high school. As I recall, L. Ron had a pretty keen satirical wit. I’ve never been able to reconcile my [limited] perceptions of the author with my [also limited] perceptions of the religion. Unless it’s all a joke …

  2. driftless #
    December 8, 2007

    Reflections I’m pretty sure. I didn’t see them until I looked at the photograph. And I’ve heard that about L. Ron before: that the books have a level of sophistication. A security guy came by on a bicycle while I was taking pictures, just curious — what were the the pictures for, what kind of signs, did I have a business card, etc. He suggested that I go to Griffith Park and take a picture of Travel Town. [ http://www.laparks.org/grifmet/tt/index.htm ] Which I may well do.

  3. Mike S. #
    December 8, 2007

    The Travel Town page reminds me of the O. Winston Link photograph –

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS